Tiger Woods Assessed Two-Stroke Penalty at The Masters
Augusta, Ga – Tiger Woods, the number-one golfer in the world has been assessed a two-stroke penalty Saturday morning at The Masters. Woods took an incorrect drop on hole 15 Friday, after his ball hit the pin and ricochet into the water. Woods knowingly dropped two yards further back. In an interview after his round, Woods said, “I went two yards back hit the same shot, just taking two yards off.” This was not one of his three options. Woods was summoned to Augusta National Golf Club early Saturday morning to confer with rules and tournament officials. The rules officials decided to issue a two-stroke penalty rather than disqualify Tiger Woods. Woods now sits at 1-under-par for the tournament.
33-7. Disqualification Penalty; Committee Discretion
A penalty of disqualification may in exceptional individual cases be waived, modified or imposed if the Committee considers such action warranted.
Any penalty less than disqualification must not be waived or modified.
If a Committee considers that a player is guilty of a serious breach of etiquette, it may impose a penalty of disqualification under this Rule.
Statement from Augusta National Golf Club
Tiger Woods Twitter Statement